HPC submits report to AP Govt on Vizag gas leak

Amaravati, July 6: The High Power Committee (HPC) which probed the May 7 Vizag gas leak incident submitted its report to the Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy at his camp office here on Monday.

Chairman of the Committee Neerab Kumar Prasad submitted the voluminous 4,000 page report which went into the technical and other details and summarised that there was slackness on part of the Company for the incident while the Chief Minister said that the Report should be placed on public domain in policy of the transparent governance.

The Committee Chairman said that there was slackness on part of the Company with regard to safety measures. There were no proper preventive mechanism to avert such incidents and the warning siren facility was also not in order. Non adherence of safety protocols, lack of timely emergency response measures, the adverse impacts and negligence were found and we have provided suggestions.

The Chief Minister said that Report will serve as guidelines on how to avert mishaps and if necessary we will make necessary amendments to the existing laws to this effect. The Committee in its report has mentioned at 36 places about how the alarm system did not function and the siren did not blow.
Based on the Report the industries should be classified into green and white and should be relocated far from residential colonies so that people should not suffer. All concerned Departments should bring out a foolproof action plan and protocols, the Chief Minister said

The Committee Report should be placed in public domain to show our concern towards the people and safety measures the industries should take in tune with our policy of transparency.
The Committee held discussions will all stake holders, experts from State and Central organisations, health activists, eyewitnesses, NGOs, examined 1250 questions raised by public through 250 e mails and 180 phone calls and messages besides speaking to affected people.

The Report was prepared based on detailed technical evaluation carried out scientifically and gave its suggestions. The Chief Minister talked to other members of the HPC through video conference.

The Committee members include R Karikal Valaven, Special Chief Secretary, Industries, V Vinay Chand, Visakhapatnam District Collector, RK Meena, Visakhapatnam Police Commissioner, Vivek Yadav, State Pollution Control Board, Dr Anjan Ray, Director CSIR Institute of Petroleum, Dr RK Elangovan, DGFASLI, Mumbai, Bharat Kumar Sharma, CPCB. Regional Director, SK Naik, CIPET, Chennai while the technical committee that assisted the HPC include Prof. KV Rao, Prof. VSRK Prasad, Director, Indian Institute of Petroleum Engineering and Prof S Bala Prasad, Department of Civil and Emvironmental Engineering ( all Andhra University)

Spread the love
Ad Widget

Recommended For You

About the Author: JournalistEye

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *